close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Lunch & Learn

The Americans With Disabilities Act at 30

2020-12-08 12:00:00 2020-12-08 13:00:00 America/Chicago Lunch & Learn This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA). Columbia Disabilities Commission members Rene Powell, John Bowders and Lydia Olmsted will present information about the current state of the ADA. Co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Columbia-Boone County. Adults. Register to receive a Zoom link for this online event. Live event via Zoom

Tuesday, December 08
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-12-08 12:00:00 2020-12-08 13:00:00 America/Chicago Lunch & Learn This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA). Columbia Disabilities Commission members Rene Powell, John Bowders and Lydia Olmsted will present information about the current state of the ADA. Co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Columbia-Boone County. Adults. Register to receive a Zoom link for this online event. Live event via Zoom

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA). Columbia Disabilities Commission members Rene Powell, John Bowders and Lydia Olmsted will present information about the current state of the ADA. Co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Columbia-Boone County. Adults. Register to receive a Zoom link for this online event.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA). Columbia Disabilities Commission members Rene Powell, John Bowders and Lydia Olmsted will present information about the current state of the ADA. Rene is a board member of the League of Women Voters. John is an MU civil engineering faculty member and also serves as chair of the Chancellor's Committee on Disabilities at MU. Lydia is 18 years old and a member of the younger ADA generation. She grew up with the law in place and will have a valuable perspective to share. Co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Columbia-Boone County and the Columbia Public Library.

Everyone is encouraged to watch the movie “Crip Camp,” directed by Nicole Newnham and James Lebrecht, in advance. The movie is not yet available at the library, but is streaming on Netflix and for free on the Netflix YouTube channel. It is a very informative and powerful documentary on the movement that led up to the ADA. 

Adults. Register to receive a Zoom link for this online event.

We will also record this event for later viewing on our YouTube channel.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | History & Genealogy | General | Featured |

TAGS: | Lunch and Learn | Co-sponsored |

Online & Broadcast Events

Phone: (573) 443-3161

Hours
Mon, Apr 12 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Tue, Apr 13 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Wed, Apr 14 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Thu, Apr 15 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Fri, Apr 16 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Apr 17 9:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, Apr 18 9:00AM to 5:30PM

About the branch

Please note that this program is taking place online or via broadcast rather than at a physical location. Please see the event description for details on where to view or tune in.

Upcoming events

Sun, Apr 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Apr 20, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Apr 20, 6:00pm - 6:20pm

Wed, Apr 21, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Apr 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Apr 22, 6:30pm - 7:45pm

Sat, Apr 24, 12:30pm - 2:30pm

Tue, Apr 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Apr 28, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Mon, May 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, May 04, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Thu, May 06, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, May 07, 9:00am - 5:00pm

Wed, May 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, May 12, 6:30pm - 7:45pm

Thu, May 13, 7:00pm - 8:00pm